BLOG: Sutter Home Book Club

| Posted by Heather for Sutter Home
A story of love, family, and redemption, Forever Beach by New York Times bestselling author Shelley Noble is a perfect end-of-summer book club pick, especially for fans of Kristin Hannah, Elin Hilderbrand, and Karen White. In Forever Beach , Sarah Hargreave is anxious to finalize the adoption of...
| Posted by Heather for Sutter Home
If your book club enjoyed books by Elin Hilderbrand, Jojo Moyes, and Jane Green, Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery is a perfect pick for your summer read. An irresistible novel —moving and funny, soulful and sweet — Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery is about happiness, heartache, and hope. A...
| Posted by Heather for Sutter Home
If you’re a fan of historical fiction, you and your book club will love "Marlene" by C.W. Gortner. "Marlene" is a lush, dramatic biographical novel of one of the most glamorous and alluring legends of Hollywood’s golden age, Marlene Dietrich — from the gender-bending cabarets of Weimar Berlin to...
| Posted by Heather for Sutter Home
It's the summer of 1944 in Door County, Wisconsin, where even the lush cherry orchards and green lakeside farms can't escape the ravages of war. ​ ​ Cherry Harvest by Lucy Sanna is a powerfully sensuous and gripping debut laced with suspense. It reveals a hidden side of World War II's home front,...
Hazelnut Flan with Roasted Cherries
| Posted by Heather for Sutter Home
Entertainment Tip: Chances are your book club has a tradition of pairing lively discussions with great food and drink. Add an extra layer to your book club gathering by serving a meal inspired by elements from the book—whether it’s the era or location of the setting, the culinary preferences of the...
| Posted by Heather for Sutter Home
A fiercely independent divorce lawyer learns the power of family and connection when she receives a cryptic message from her estranged mother in this bittersweet, witty novel from the nationally bestselling author of Someone Else’s Love Story and gods in Alabama. Thisemotionally resonant subject...
| Posted by Heather for Sutter Home
Book Description: An aristocratic young woman leaves the sheltered world of London to find adventure, passion, and independence in 1920s Paris in this mesmerizing story from the USA Today and internationally bestselling author of Somewhere in France and After the War is Over . Spring, 1924...
| Posted by Heather for Sutter Home
This month’s Sutter Home Book Club selection comes from the New York Times bestselling author Marisa de los Santos. Her novel, The Precious One, is a captivating story that revolves around themes all too compelling to all of us: family, friendship, second chances and the redemptive power of love...
| Posted by Heather for Sutter Home
Sautéed Olives Serves 4 3 tablespoons olive oil 4 cloves garlic, crushed 2 cups large unpitted black olives (Kalamata or black oil-cured olives) ¼ cup red wine vinegar 1 teaspoon dried oregano To a hot pan, add the oil and garlic, and sauté for 1 minute, then add the olives and vinegar. Cook over...
The Orphan Book and Sutter Home Red Blend
| Posted by Heather for Sutter Home
In this stunning new historical novel inspired by true events, Kim van Alkemade tells the fascinating story of a woman who must choose between revenge and mercy, when she encounters the doctor who subjected her to dangerous medical experiments in a New York City Jewish orphanage years before.​ ​ In...